Monday, August 24, 2015

Letting the Genie Out of the Bottle - Next GLA Carterette Series Webinar

Letting the Genie Out of the Bottle: Getting the Most from Your Library's Relationship with Genealogists

Date: Wednesday, September 9, 2015
Time: 3pm Eastern (12pm Pacific | 1pm Mountain | 2pm Central)

A love-hate relationship often exists between libraries and genealogy. Many libraries acknowledge that genealogists account for a sizeable portion of their visitors, but the enthusiasm and expectations of genealogists often place burdens on reference/research and acquisitions staff. How can you better understand genealogists and their needs and draw upon that understanding to benefit your library? This Webinar takes you on a journey toward mutual appreciation and support.

About the Presenter:

Randall S. Gooden is an associate professor of history at Clayton State University in Morrow. He teaches family history and genealogy at the university and has been an avid genealogist since he was a child. He also shares the perspective of librarians and archivists on genealogy and genealogists as a former assistant curator for the West Virginia and Regional History Collection at West Virginia University, head of the archives and library at Ohio Historical Society's Youngstown Historical Center of Industry and Labor, and circuit rider archivist for the Georgia Archives.

Can't make it to the live show? That's okay! The session will be recorded and available on the Carterette Series Webinars site for later viewing.

To register for the online event
1. Go to registration page:
2. Complete and submit the form.
3. A URL for the event will be emailed to you immediately after registration.

Contact a member of the Carterette Series planning team with questions or suggestions:

No comments:

Post a Comment